Country Animals on College Campuses

7 08 2008

As I am “on lunch” I figured I throw an update on here so I remember to journal later.  Yes, I do use blogger as a way to write my journal entries when I’ve forgotten my journal at home.  Yes, I will copy it word for word tonight.  And yes, I do enjoying doing the same task twice. That’s a talent I’ve acquired via the JOB.

Adventures in the City:  Episode #1
Brought to you by Biking at Night Productions

Last night I saw a skunk. Shocked? I was. But let’s start this story right…

After watching a thrilling episode of So You Think You Can Dance and giving up on trying to call in to vote for Twitch (that would’ve been TV vote #2 ever for those of you who had a sudden *cough*loser*cough* fit), I decided to go for a bike ride. I love going out in the city at night. Nocturnal is much more interesting. The stars are out. There’s a cool breeze off the lakefront. Streets are semi-empty. Drivers are less attentive. A perfect night.

The kid in me always likes to bike over by the university with its dark streets and haunted lighting. As I was riding past, I thought -for the 8millionth time- I really should have visited friends down here more often.  I decided to ride through the campus for the first time. Not sure why I’ve never done that before.

Enjoyed passing the library with its hardcore summer students and cool waterfountain. Stopping outside the music practice room to watch Unknown Hottie reach a beautiful crescendo on the timpani. Resting for a moment while enjoying the view of the courtyard and watching the scurryings of a small animal scavenging for crumbs. It was pretty in the dark despite it’s slightly ratty black & white fur.

Then it hit me. THAT is a skunk. A SKUNK. 15 feet from me. I was frozen for a moment as all my grandpa’s stories of washing the dogs in tomato juice when they got sprayed came to mind. Conflicting thoughts entered the brain: What do I do?! I kinda want to take a picture. Should I leave? If I move, it will notice me. Will it spray me? Could I get a picture without it noticing? Should I move? I should. Ooo It’s meandering away a bit. Should I wait for it to walk away?

It didn’t seem to be paying any attention.  So I whipped out my cell and zoomed in on the little beast who was at the edge of the lit path now. Blurry. Damn. Ok, one more. Oh he’s coming closer. That’s right. Back into the light now. Come on. Little closer.  I closed my cell after getting the shot.  He was still hurrying here and there picking up the bits dropped by students as they had wandered between classes earlier that day.  I’m now satisfied with my mad cellphone photography skillz, but he’s too close now for me to just bike away without attracting attention. 7 ft. 5ft.  OMG HE’S UNDER MY BIKE. As in the bike I’m SITTING ON. He’s nibbling at my shoelaces. Don’t move. Don’t breathe. Don’t breathe.

He meandered away without incident, but I had to stop and breathe (having neglected that while he tested to see if my shoes were edible).  My 1st thought was:  Cool. Woah. 2nd thought:  That would’ve been really embarrassing to admit if I had stuck around that long and he sprayed me. Whew. Thank you jesus. 

Next time on Adventures in the City:  Stoned

Actions

Information

One response

18 08 2008
Pet Adoption

Thats a bit of a close call! I have never been close to a Skunk and don’t ever plan too! *On a side note Roadhouse Blues is an awesome track 😉

Leave a Reply

