Persuasion

27 03 2008

*Note* I know I’ve been a shit commentator as of late.  I’m still reading all you lovelies.  Just feeling awfully self-involved at the moment and can’t seemed to think nice thoughts.  I have 230 posts left to catch up on, but I promise I’ll get to it soon.  Feel free to leave a nasty comment. I deserve it.

So obviously “that time of the month.”  Last week all I could think about was sex.  This week I’m feeling miserably alone.  Tempted by chocolate.  (not that it helps.) Threating to cry. (for what reason?) Checking my inbox every hour for msgs from Indie. (none.) Pathetic.

***

SCE called over Easter totally out of the blue.  We were both back home for the weekend, and he was looking to go out to the bars.  I had friends over and turned him down.  Still.  Flattered he called. First time I’ve heard from him since the game.

***

One of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read:

I can listen no longer in silence.  I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach.  You pierce my soul.  I am half agony, half hope.  Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever.  I offer myself to you again with a heart ever more your own than when you almost broke it, eight and a half years ago.  Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death.  I have loved none but you.  Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant.  – From a letter to Anne Elliot by Captain Wentworth in Jane Austen’s Persuasion

Austen wrote with such delibrate passion that slowly develops until it bursts forth in that letter.  I borrowed both Persuasion & Northanger Abbey from the library last week.  I’m desperate to go back for more.

*** 

My sister is staying with me til Saturday.  I’d call her little, but she is 17 & 5’6.”  Love her to death.  She’s f*ing hilarious, gorgeous, a totally healthnut and understands me like no one else.  Then the parentals are picking us up on their way through town and we’re off to Michigan Ave & Ikea SHOPPING. 

*** 

It’s lunchtime. I’ve been reading through a book a friend gave me for my birthday.  A Woman’s Europe is a collection of short stories written by women – so far we’ve only hit Greece, France and Italy a few times.  Surprisingly, moved first by the quote on a title page and the author descriptions following each passage.

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”  – George Eliot (aka Mary Ann Evans)

And how would my description read?

“Grace Kelly is a brillant & engaging marketing assistant currently working in the construction industry doing non-marketing tasks.  She resides in the city with her cousin and a plant she can’t kill.  After graduating college last May, she has not managed to learn to cook or keep house and still hates laundry.  She is single & petless.  Someday she hopes to meet Mr. Right, get married and have 4 lovely children.  In the meantime, she excels at her dull job and dreams wistfully of a Mr. Indie who she still somewhat hopes will come around in full Captain Wentworth style.”

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 03 2008
cl

ah, your posts always make my day. don’t worry, i managed a “i’m a piece of shit” for my last post…you can skip over that one.

i’m glad you’re having fun with your sister, i wish i had one

27 03 2008
Hazel

weird! i’m a marketing assistant in the commercial real estate, development and management industry! i do lots of non-marketing things too. boo.

30 03 2008
brandy

This post reminded me of something one of the kids I teach said the other day. He was talking about books and said that “we all get to be good guys or bad guys. Heroes or violins”. I asked if he meant ‘villains’ and he said yes, but I thought his original was cute. Anyway, the George Eliot quote is one of my favourites- it’s just drenched in possibility and makes me feel like my screwups of yesterday are completely forgettable. And for a girl like me who has a lot of screwups, this is a very nice feeling indeed.

As for google reader- I’m starting to wonder if it’s more of a noose than anything else. I see the number of posts I STILL am trying to read after Vegas and I collapse to the floor.

Okay, I don’t but I feel like it.

1 04 2008
Smiley

What a great gift for you! A book about travels through Europe. That must be a really great friend. They must be intelligent and beautiful and fun and awesome!
hehehe

2 04 2008
Benjamin

Just wanted to thank you for making yourself known so I can now creep on your posts too 🙂

3 04 2008
so@24

Damn. Ol’ Cap’n Wentworth knows how to drop some serious shit.

Leave a Reply

