Movie Meme

18 03 2008

Jen posted this meme and I just had to try it! When you’re done, check out hers and see what you can remember.

Here are the rules:

  • Pick 15 of your favorite movies:
  • Go to IMDb and find a quote for each of the movies
  • Post them here for everyone to guess
  • Strikeout when someone correctly guesses in the comments, put who guessed it and the movie
  • No Googling or using IMDb

1.

“What kind of place is this? It’s beautiful: Pigeons fly, women fall from the sky! I’m moving here!” Renee – La Vita e’ Bella (Life is Beautiful)

2.

“What the fuck were you going to do, laugh the last three to death, Funny-Man?” Renee – Boondock Saints

3.

“You gotta fight for every breath and tell death to go to hell.”

4.

“Who? Who is but the form following the function of what, and what I am is a man in a mask.” Smiley – V for Vendetta

5.

“This is Sammy Davis Jr. Jr… She is Grandfather’s Seeing Eye bitch. Father purchased her for him not because he believes Grandfather is blind, but because a Seeing Eye bitch is also a good thing for people who pine for the opposite of loneliness. In truth, Father did not purchase her at all, but merely retrieved her from the home for forgetful dogs. Because of this, she is not a real Seeing Eye bitch, and is also mentally deranged.”

6.

“Oh, it’s nobody’s fault but my own! I was looking up… it was the nearest thing to heaven! You were there…”

7.

“Learned a new word today. Atom bomb. It was like God taking a photograph.”

8.

“And as for this, the violence? I gotta be honest – it grew on me. Once you’ve taken a few punches and realize you’re not made of glass, you don’t feel alive unless you’re pushing yourself as far as you can go.”

9.

“I’m fucking doomed! You know he’s got go-go dancers after me?”

10.

“What was that ruckus?“
“Uh, what ruckus?“
“I was just in my office and I heard a ruckus.”
“Could you describe the ruckus, sir?”
  Renee – Breakfast Club

11.

“If you wish to practice the art of fiction, to be considered the equal of a masculine author, then your horizons must be… widened.” Smiley – Becoming Jane

12.

“I remember every detail. The Germans wore gray, you wore blue.” Smiley – Casablanca

13.

“[she] can only see two explanations. 1 – he didn’t get the photo. 2 – before he could assemble it, a gang of bank robbers took him hostage. The cops gave chase. They got away… but he caused a crash. When he came to, he’d lost his memory. An ex-con picked him up, mistook him for a fugitive, and shipped him to Istanbul. There he met some Afghan raiders who too him to steal some Russian warheads. But their truck hit a mine in Tajikistan. He survived, took to the hills, and became a Mujaheddin. [She] refuses to get upset for a guy who’ll eat borscht all his life in a hat like a tea cozy.”

14.

“Well, the only loophole or way I could see me getting you out of school for any considerable length of time would be for you… to commit suicide.” Um…Yum! – Running with Scissors

15.

“Um, he’s sick. My best friend’s sister’s boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend heard from this guy who knows this kid who’s going with the girl who saw Ferris pass out at 31 Flavors last night. I guess it’s pretty serious.” so@24 – Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Bonne Chance!

Actions

Information

8 responses

18 03 2008
so@24

I must be slipping.

I didn’t know ANY of those. And I live in the land of movies.

Except for the Ferris Bueller one… and just because it had his name in the quote.

I’m Lameo.

18 03 2008
grace13

so@24 – damn i forgot to pull that. eh. you can have it anyway. although you of all people really should know some of these.

it’s a random assortment – a few classics, 80’s, foreign, action, and several award winners.

20 03 2008
Renee

2. Boondock Saints
4. Princess Bride?
10. Breakfast Club
14. The Heathers? — total guess there

20 03 2008
grace13

Renee – Yes, No, Yes, No. Excellent!

20 03 2008
Career Future? « Cassette45

[…] – Don’t forget the movie meme!  We still only 3 for […]

21 03 2008
I know you’ve seen these… « Cassette45

[…] And here are the quotes. […]

22 03 2008
Um...Yum!

Man! #5 sounds soooooo familiar. I know I’ve watched it. I think I know it. I have to google to see if I’m right…ok…I was right, but I won’t say it here because I cheated to validate my guess. :o)

Your hint for #8 totally confused me and threw me off. Now, I have to google this one, too…ok, I first googled the whole thing, and it came up only with your blog entry. :o) I shortened it, and found it. I would have never guessed it because I never heard of it.

I have one! #14 is “Running with Scissors”! Hooray! I win!

19 04 2008
Smiley

12. Casablanca!
11. Becoming Jane!!! (finally saw it and yessss awesome!)

Leave a Reply

