The Wild Rose & Other Random Thoughts

1 03 2008

Inspired by Deutlich’s post on crushing, I figured I’d try out this quiz for myself.  Because after all, who better to tell me about me than a random dating website, right?


Colorful, but unpicked. You are The Wild Rose.

Prone to bouts of cynicism, sarcasm, and thorns, you excite a certain kind of man. Hoping to gather you up, he flirts and winks and asks you out, ultimately professing his love. Then you make him bleed. Why? Because you’re the rare, independent, self-sufficient kind of woman who does want love, but not from a weakling.

You don’t seem to take yourself too seriously, and that’s refreshing. You aren’t uptight; you don’t over-plan. Romance-wise, sex isn’t a top priority–a true relationship would be preferable. For your age, you haven’t had a lot of bonafide love experience, though, and this kind of gets to core of the issue. You’re very selective.

The problem is them, not you, right? You have lofty standards that few measure up to. You’re out there all right, but not to be picked up by just anyone.

Haha wow.  Kinda weird how ‘on’ some of that is.  Well, I think I knew all that anyways based on Patriots, Mr.Opportunity & Prom, but what about the guys I’m interested in? 

After rereading it, I’d like to translate the thought process behind whoever came up with this “wild rose” bit.  Let’s see,

Well, this woman is a bit of a bitch. Totally sarcastic and kinda mean probably.  Yet I suppose that makes her a little intriguing to some guys – the whole ‘want what you can’t have’ theory.  Let’s name her The Wild Rose so she feels kinda sexy about her meanness.

“Then you make him bleed.” You’re basically a bad person. Look at you tearing up all these good men.  You let them follow along believing in love than rip em to shreds with a few mean words.  You have a wall that doesn’t let guys in, which is why you don’t date much. You’re too picky.  Stop being a bitch. Shame on you.

lol. All in a good bit of fun.  No, I’m not cynical.  Yes, I did just prove right everything the silly quiz said.  But hey, not like I care. Remember? I’m above it all. 😉

ps – totally random – I was talking with roomie just this wk about how strange it is to realize that I haven’t talked to Patriots in at least 7-8 months. Then last night he aims me and we chatted for a bit.  Strange how our conversations used to last ages.  It was good to catch up. Different, but good.

***  ***  *** 

After wandering through the comments on this post (yes, I’m blog stalking you! love your writing!) I meandered over to Quirkyalone and read about the controversial article “Marry Him.”  Loved the writer’s thoughts on the issue “My advice: Why not wait until all those settlers get divorced? They’ll be more people in the dating pool.”

Gonna be spending a little more time checking out these archives and finding new blogs to read. 

***  ***  *** 

As a lover of Tolkien, Lewis &, yes, even Rowling, j’adore l’article “No Big Deal” by Adam Goldenberg.  My favorite Gadfly writer tosses about J.K. Rowling’s appointment as commencement speaker for this year’s graduating Harvard class.  Cracks me up.  Take a read.

Actions

Information

One response

2 03 2008
Deutlich

hahaha – I heart you. Stalk away! 😉

Leave a Reply

