Boredom, Food, Music

8 01 2008

Bored

Took roomie to dinner last night at the amazing Italian restaurant in the building next to our apt.   oh.   oh wow.   To die for.  They had the most delicious tiramisu.*

We were out celebrating her first day in the real world.  That’s right. Roomie has an internship at a local PR agency.  Well, I’m out another $75 but it was worth it.  We haven’t had the chance to bond recently what with her last exams, graduating, NB’s visit, and then Christmas break.  It was fun to joke about random shite like the ‘old mafia guys’ at the corner table and fun happenings at the family reunion last wkend.  We’ve officially decided (for the umpteenth millionth time) to try to hang out outside the apt and explore the city more.  Should be easier now that we’re both working 8-5.

rooneySo I’m loving this fun music phase I’m going through. One can only adore the spectacular albums like In Rainbows if you have an appropriate switch up of music (at least in my opinion).  After a month-ish of obsessive listening bordering on crazed, I picked up Rooney’s Calling the World on a whim.** I had heard bits of ‘When Did Your Heart Go Missing?’ and figured it’d be a fun album to try.

omg.  wow.  I love it.  It’s so simple.  The lyrics are practically sterile by today’s standards.  The tempo is up.  The guitars and keyboard lean towards the Queen end of the scale.***  On the road I was bopping around 80s style.  It’s so fun!  By no means is it a monumental album.  I wouldn’t even go so far as to call it ‘good.’  But it’s fun – the kind of album I’d be willing to toss at my 6yr old (if I had one) to dance around to without annoying the hell outa me.

Because I’m bored I leave you with some links I’ve been saving over the last month. Have fun.

If he liked women, I’d propose. Just think of all the insights you could hear explained over the dinner table. (which is, of course, the best place to learn) Alas, I suppose I’ll just have to keep reading.

Reminder on self confidence

Because everybody loves The Onion: New Poll Finds 86 Percent Of Americans Don’t Want To Have A Country Anymore

– 

* Don’t laugh. I know I’m lactose intolerant.
** I needed a new album for the long drive to the reunion and Tegan and Sara was sold out. And by sold out I mean no one knew what I was talking about. Nor did they have the new Redwalls  or anything by The Frames
*** Minus the falsetto

– 

Still bored.  Got any band/song/artist/album suggestions?  I’ll listen to just about anything.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

