Working in England

12 11 2007

moneyIs it economically & financially a good idea right now to move abroad to work (and take advantage of the low american dollar)?

For example:  A starting salary for teachers in Australia is over $40,000. This increases depending on region. MS said that it’s immensely higher in NZ. If it’s truly as high as she says, then it is possible she could pay off her student loans (for a private college a.k.a. $$deathly$$expensive$$) in only 2yrs.

Marketing Assistant (my current title) is btwn 25,000 & 35,000 which is similar to here in the States. However, imagine working, living, and saving whilst there. If I can save say, $2,000 in the US in a year… I could save $2,000 in England in a year… move back to the States and, crossing your fingers there isn’t a surge of the dollar, I’d have almost $4,000. Crazy!

So my question is: Would this work? Is the standard of living in, say England, the same as it is here in terms of costs. I mean if I pay $4 for a starbucksmochalattechinocoffee here in the States, will I pay £4 for the same thing in England? How about 4€ in Ireland? This is my own brain speaking… so forgive if it’s a little madhatter.  But if Logic tells me that if I’m making my money in ‘quid’ and spending it in quid, then that is equal to me making $ and spending $. Of course until I bring my leftover English earnings back to the States where it doubles into $.

Am I right? Should I move back to England?

Sure the startup costs will be a bitch and rent for a hole in the wall is insane but is it worth it?

New car, caviar, four star daydream, Think Ill buy me a football team.
Money – Pink Floyd

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

