Vacation Story: Celebsighting (contd.)

27 02 2009

This is continued from the previous vacation post found here.

One of the few nights my Dad didn’t have a business dinner to attend, we went out for dinner in Poipu.  The restaurant Keoki’s was a laidback seafood place with a split level.  My family sat on the lower level right next to the stairs.  Being the kid-at-heart that I am (f*ing immature), I started up a rousing game of hangman w/ my younger siblings.*  This behavior continued through dinner despite my hot guy radar going off mid-meal when another family sat down nearby.

“Yes! Hot guy at 2 0’clock! Gosh, from side profile, he kinda looks a bit like John Daley from Bones.  Damn fuzzyness. Why didn’t I wear my glasses?”**

However, I couldn’t see clearly enough to think much of it.  I made notes in my mind of the few times Mr GoodLooking glanced at our table but continued giggle, chatter, and tease my sibs & parents.

When we got up to leave, we walked up the steps to the main level (located right by his table).  As I reached the top stair, he turned and looked right at me.  Now, just 3 feet away, I had no difficulty recognizing one of my favorite actors.  John Daley, the once adorable freshman in Freaks and Geeks and current genius psychiatrist on Bones, was sitting RIGHT THERE.  I barely stumbled away intact.

Was it obvious? Was STARSTRUCK written all over my forehead? Did he see it, or did I walk alway in time?

For the next hour of my life, the only words that made it past my lips were “Dude!” and “Oh my God!” As a relatively articulate adult (almost 23!!!) it was not one of my proudest hours I’ll admit.

For those of you going “John Daley…. Was he in… no… wait…”

John Daley as Sam Weir in Freaks and Geeks (2nd from left)

John Daley as Sam Weir in Freaks and Geeks (2nd from left)

John Daley as Dr. Lance Sweets on Bones

John Daley as Dr. Lance Sweets on Bones

I’m sure many of you have run across a celebrity at some point in your life.  The question is “do you approach them?”  I’ve always tried to stay away – respecting that they probably want to go out in public without being fawned on all the time.  Yet, part of me wishes I had said something.***

Anyone?  If you’ve run into a celebrity: actor, actress, musician, politician, athlete, author, whateverfloatsyourboat- how did you react?

x

What was supposed to be a crude sketch-up in Paint fell at the mercy of my perfectionistic tendencies. Hence the beautiful, detailed ‘drawing’.  Yes. Wasting time. It happens when you’ve nothing to get up early for.

*When I’m with my younger sibs, I tend to act like a 12 yr old w/ a cursing problem.  This might work if I was stooping down to their ages, but they are 18 and 14.  Ah well…
** My glasses were on top of my head. Stupidstupidstupid…
*** My excuse for not stopping over is that he was obviously at dinner with his family – parents+.  Interrupting the family dinner of someone you’ve never met feels a bit sacrilegious. Even if it is just to say “Hi! I’m Grace. I don’t mean to interrupt. I just wanted to tell you I love your portrayal of Dr. Sweets on Bones.  You really capture the awkwardness of a young adult working in a much older, more professional enviroment.  You’re so talented.  And amazing.  And hot.  Marry me?” Okay, maybe that’s going a bit far…. damn.

Actions

Information

One response

27 02 2009
Vacation Story: Celebsighting (contd.) | Hazel Woods

[...] more here:  Vacation Story: Celebsighting (contd.) | Tags: celebrity-at-some, Gossip, how-did, life, some-point, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

