Back to the Future….

26 02 2009

No, I’m not reviewing that epic movie.  Although I’m sure some of you wish I was.  This is an actual talking about the future post.  Scary, huh?

(Expecting the rest of the Vacation Story? It’s coming next, I swears!  THIS however, is the reason I never finished my story on Friday.)

Wonderful opportunities have recently presented themselves.  I suddenly have all the time in the world to finish my graduate school applications because my position was cut last Friday as part of a series of major budget cuts due to the economy.   This was Totally unexpected, but explains why the (ex)Boss was SUCH a fricken pain in the ass over the last few weeks – she wanted me to finish as much as possible before she was left all on her own.

I was let go. Damn. It’s like cancer in that you never expect it to happen to you.

Luckily, I left the company in very good standing.  They expressed deep regret about losing me as an employee and offered to provide any recommendations.  Additionally, the company’s severance pay is usually 2wks salary + unused vacation hours.  I was sent away with 11wks salary, unused vacation, & the bonus I was due to receive in March.  (and they freely admitted there are jobs & projects they aren’t capable of doing without me bc they don’t know how.) Rock on.  AND I’m finally free of the Boss from Hell!!!!!!!!!!!

Once the shock wore off, I packed my duffel, fed Chris the Fish, and drove straight to my parent’s house.  While this is all happening 5 months sooner than expected, at least there will be no guilt about quitting.  Maybe this is God’s way of giving a solid kick in the pants to finish those damned grad school applications.  I’ve one possible job that I’m applying for currently, but I’m wary about trying to pick up something when I’ll be heading out in August.

One note of interest: I am part of a new demographic – I’m one of the 600,000 workers to be laid off this month alone.

And I’m not even mad or freaked out.  It all has a way of working itself out.  Plus, now I can totally get my eyebrow re-pierced!  I’ll have to move out of the city in 2 months which will be kinda sad (bc ‘home’ is so blatantly suburbanly gray) but I was getting bored of it here anyway.


Actions

Information

2 responses

26 02 2009
wiscoblonde

Hmm…how to respond to this post? That sucks, but congrats?

26 02 2009
CL

Hmmm….I think it’s a secret sign that good things are on the horizon. Getting bored of the city? That’s too bad. I wish you wouldn’t leave but off to greener pasture you go.

Free this weekend?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

